5 Questions with Mrs. LeMay

Paton’s Health teacher, Shirley LeMay, tells us about her career path, her favorite book and her inspiring big brother.

When you were in elementary school, what did you want to be when you grew up?

I knew since I was very, very young that I wanted to be a teacher. I used to play school all the time with friends and sometimes even alone. It’s been in my blood forever!

How did you become a health teacher?

I taught either 2nd, 3rd, or 4th grade for 25 years at Coolidge School. Health and Science were always my favorite things to teach. Eventually, Health was taken out of our regular Elementary curriculum and made into a special subject. I was sad when I wasn’t able to teach it anymore. Years ago when I went back to school to get my Masters Degree, I decided to get it in Health Education with the hope of teaching Health someday. I finally did! ☺

What is your favorite book or movie – and why?

I love the book, “The Recess Queen” by Alexis O’Neill. I use it in my second grade classes when I teach about friendship and bullying. I love that book because it clearly shows that everyone has feelings and sometimes kids act mean because they are hurting. It’s a great way to show kids that a little kindness goes a long way and that the simplest act of friendship can make a positive difference in someone’s life. It’s an awesome book!

Who inspires you?

My older brother has always been my inspiration. He is 11 years older than me and has always been such a great role model. When I was in 5th grade, my brother was doing his student teaching. He used to let me help him with his school work and eventually when he became a teacher, I got to visit his classroom. He was an incredible teacher (for the students and for me!) He was the Massachusetts winner of the Presidential Award for Excellence in Science Teaching! He always inspired me to be the best teacher I could be. He retired after 37 years of teaching in Auburn, MA and is now a reading tutor here in Shrewsbury at Floral Street School. He has inspired my teaching and many other aspects of my life. He’s a great big brother!

Complete this sentence “Each day when I head to Paton, I strive to…..”
…bring Health lessons to my 2nd and 4th graders that will inspire them to live a healthier lifestyle now and always. My hope is that the message I send to them is digested and then spread to family members when they get home. I want my students to always feel like they are safe, happy, and healthy. I hope that my Health lessons make a positive difference (even in a small way) to ensure lifelong healthy habits.

 

Mrs. LeMay with her husband, children Joey and Abby, and family pets Molly and Maggie

Mrs. LeMay with her husband, children Joey and Abby, and family pets Molly and Maggie

 

