Mrs. Catalanotti’s First Graders: Opinion Writing

The first graders in Mrs. Catalanotti’s class have been working very hard on their opinion writing. Each child has practiced writing an opinion on a given topic and supporting his or her opinion with a reason. After studying many authors, each child wrote his or her opinion about who the best author is.
 
— — 
by Sarah

In my opinion, Kevin Henkes is the best first grade author. My reason is Chester’s Way is very interesting, because I have no idea how he makes those most amazing pictures.

by Leanna

In my opinion, Dr. Seuss is the best first grade author. My reason is because the books he writes are good for children starting to read. That is my reason for liking Dr. Seuss.

by Grace

In my opinion, Robert Munsch is the best first grade author. My reason is Robert Munsch writes funny stories. They make me giggle a lot. Stephanie’s Ponytail is awesome. His books are great for kids in need and star reading.

by Matthew B.

In my opinion, Robert Munsch is the best first grade author. His books are so funny. He is the funniest author in the whole world. I like I Have to Go.

by Alyssa

In my opinion, Margie Palatini is the best first grade author. My reason is she writes great books. My favorite books are Shelly and Piggie Pie. That is why I like Margie Palatini.

by Maddy

In my opinion, Kevin Henkes is the best first grade author. My reason is, I love all the books. They are just so awesome! The one that I most like is Jessica, because she has an imaginary friend I like how it is so funny.

by Matthew W.

In my opinion, Dr. Seuss is the best first grade author. I like The Cat in the Hat because the cat is silly. He stands on a ball and jumps and makes a mess. That is why I like Dr. Seuss.

by Kenny

In my opinion, Margie Palatini is the best first grade author. I like the book The Cheese because the rat is not selfish. Also, she used the song “The Cheese Stands Alone”. This is why I think she is the best.

by Charlie

In my opinion, Robert Munsch is the best first grade author. I enjoyed Andrew’s Loose Tooth because the doctor couldn’t even get the tooth, but his friend could get his tooth out of his mouth. I like that he put salt up his nose.

by Mariel

In my opinion, Leo Lionni is the best first grade author. I like the book Fish is Fish and Swimmy. He has really cool colors in his books. That is why I think he is the greatest first grade author.

by Aidan

In my opinion, my favorite author is…Robert Munsch. My reason is he is the best author in the whole wide world. My reason is his books are outstanding! My favorite book ever is called Pigs . My third reason is when the pigs followed Meghan on the bus and she said “Pigs get off the bus or you will be punished. This is why I enjoy Robert Munsch.

by Landan

In my opinion, Robert Munsch is the best first grade author. I like Andrew’s Loose Tooth because the tooth fairy is very funny. That is why I like Robert Munsch.

by Liam

In my opinion, Robert Munsch is the best first grade author. The Paper Bag Princess is my favorite. My reason is because it is so funny when the dragon got so tired. That is why I chose Robert Munsch.

by Brock

In my opinion, Robert Munsch is the best first grade author. I like his books a lot. I like the book Andrew’s Loose Tooth. He wrote funny stories. That is why I like Robert Munsch.

by Hayden

In my opinion, Leo Lionni is the best first grade author. I like Swimmy because it is a about teamwork. I also like his characters.

by Noah

In my opinion, Tomie dePaola is the best first grade author. My reason is I loved Strega Nona because I loved when Big Anthony always got into trouble. In this story, he flooded the whole town with spaghetti.

by Meghan

In my opinion, Robert Munsch is the best first grade author. I like Pigs when Meghan opened the gate, the pigs went in the house and made a mess and went into her room. I also liked Make Up Mess! When the girl made a mess on her face, her parents fainted.

by Keith

In my opinion, I liked Tomie dePaola . I really liked Strega Nona books. My favorite book is called Strega Nona because spaghetti floods the town.

by Timothy

In my opinion, Tomie dePaola is the best first grade author. I liked Oliver Button is a Sissy. I liked it very much because it was really not funny. At the end it was really awesome.

by Ian

In my opinion, Margie Palatini is the best first grade author. I like her books because she mixes up stories. My favorite was is The Three Hares, because Godlie made the 3 hares work, work, work, and then the 3 hares called the 3 bears.

