Mrs. Darling’s Third Graders

The students in room 9 have been working on combining our unit on pilgrims with our knowledge of story critical character and setting.

by Jacob Morin

I am a pilgrim about to enter the village that is my home. As I look up the road, I can see a brown-headed woman planting seeds. Next to her is a one-room cottage with two windows on each side. My nose inhales a fresh salty smell from the ocean. As I walk I can hear sand crumbling under my boots. My skin can fell a cool breeze. Also I can see a man with brown hair, black boots, and a dark brown jacket working on the roof of a two-room cottage with two doors. My hands touch hard wood from the entrance gate. It is tall and wraps around the cottage, protecting us from other people. The gate also has two doors. I then run back home to have something to eat.

by Harrison McGowan

I am a pilgrim about to enter the village that is my home. As I look up the road, I can feel the wind blowing on me. I can see the meetinghouse where the pilgrims are meeting. As I walk by, I see homes. I am stepping on dirt and gravel. I am a child doing chores with my mom and dad like planting in the garden. I am standing in the middle of the garden. It is sunny and hot. I’m sweating from doing a lot of work.

by Jack Doyle

I am a pilgrim about to enter the village that is my home. As I look up the road, humming birds fluttered over the dark, green trees. Squirrels rustled in the leaves racing toward the trees where they store their nuts. The sounds of chipped dirt were being made by workers’ tools crunching through the ground. The smell of fresh corn reached my nose. The corn was so fresh I could taste it. My body couldn’t walk that much longer. After a while I started to trudge. The chilly air brushed my skin and made me shiver. My house streamed into view. My eye could just spot my dad in front of our house.

by Arden Demac

I am a pilgrim about to enter the village that is my home. As I look up the road, I see common houses. They are made of wood and the roof is made of straw. There is a woman inside the house cooking stew in a big black kettle over the fire. It is very sunny and really warm outside. In the field I can see a dog playing. My good friend is doing the laundry. My older sister is picking blueberries to make a pie. My brother is playing with his friends.

by Sheila Sawyer

I am a pilgrim about to enter the village that is my home. As I look up the road, I can hear a cow mooing over in the field. I can smell the salty sea air and see white seagulls overhead. Bumblebees buzz in my ears. In the distance I hear a yelp come from an animal shot by a Wampanoag. I see a woman sewing a shawl. She has piercing blue eyes and long golden hair as bright as a star. She was wearing a pretty green dress and a white apron. A child sat on a stool playing with a doll. The child looked exactly like her mother except her short hair. I hear men sighing in between breaths. Wandering chickens roam the streets. I pass a priest praying before a statue. I can’t wait to get home to the fire.

by Gabriela Muniz-Gonzalez

I am a pilgrim about to enter the village that is my home. As I look up the road, I see other pilgrims doing chores like polishing pottery, milking goats or cows and cooking. I look at the nearby woods very closely. A deer is being chased by men. “Ba-caw!” That is the sound of the clucking chickens. The big, wide cannons from the meetinghouse went BOOOM! Then I listened to the humming of a little girl. She had long black hair and a red puffy dress. Her eyes were as green as the spring grass. Ticktack. Ticktack went my feet as I walked home enjoying the view.

Leave a Reply

