Mrs. Catalanotti’s First Graders

The first graders in Mrs. Catalanotti’s class recently took a sensory walk on the nature trail. The students wrote sensory poems to describe their experience.

Aariz Hussain
I see brown, hard trees
I hear white birds singing
I smell skunk cabbage
I touch cold rocks
I feel happy

Anna Cardani
I see sticky black mud
I hear kids playing and yelling
I smell fresh air
I touch hard rocks
I feel excited and happy

Vinay Verma
I see the woodpecker holes
I hear the leaves crunching
I smell flowers
I touch a tree
I feel tree branches

Caroline Menzie
I see yellow and red leaves
I hear loud cars
I smell the fresh air
I touch a hard log
I feel happy

Anshul Dadwal
I see leaves and trees
I hears cars and people
I smell skunk cabbage
I touch wood
I feel the wind

Jillian Evans
I see the trees shake
I hear the cars ride fast
I smell pine
I touch logs
I feel wind blowing

Hailey Luke
I see a bird’s nest on a tree
I hear chipmunks running around
I smell skunk cabbage – stinky
I touch cold and chilly logs
I feel interested

Isabella Germanos
I see a cat walking
I hear a bird speaking
I smell a snack
I touch a rock
I feel excited

Polyana DeOliveira
I see brown sticks
I hear people talking
I smell the wind
I touch a dull rock
I feel cold

Ameile Rearden
I see small purple flowers
I hear an airplane
I smell fresh air
I touch a logs with holes in it
I feel excited and happy

Aaditya Basrur
I see long sticks
I hear cars running
I smell the breeze – so good
I touch the hard tree
I feel happy

Leave a Reply

